Posted by: Lindsey | March 16, 2010

Random Things I’m Learning About Ecuador

I decided to write a blog about all the random things in Ecuador that I’ve observed so far.

For instance what my kids wear. I don’t know why but everyday only a handful of kids wear jeans. The rest of the time it’s shorts for some of the guys or track/lounge/yoga pants for everyone else (the high schoolers wear a lot more jeans though).. They all wear sneakers like Vans, Keds, Converse or sometimes ballet flats. And it’s tons of Gap, Abercrombie, Hollister, Nautica… These kids go to the States ALL. THE. TIME. and buy their clothes there. Honestly, it is cheaper in the States but of course, not when you factor in the one $800 ticket it takes to get there.

It’s easy to forget about the wealth at the school just because for the most part, on a day to day basis, the kids seem like regular middle class kids like the ones back home. But then we find information like one kid’s dad owns Supermaxi, the Ecuadorian Wal-mart and another kid’s family owns Banco Pichincha which is like Bank of American here.

The cabs, restaurants, and movies are cheap. Clothes and shoes not at all. Payless sells their shoes for $50ish. We call it “Paymore” when we see it. My thin leather ballet flats are getting scuffed so badly from walking on the pavement all the time (and from being so clumsy) that I’m terrified they won’t last until April. I complained about this to Pablo but he said you can get leather cheap here up in Octovalo, where they make leather. Of course, he’s a man and so what does he know about cute shoes. He wears sandals in any weather. Eventually we’ll be getting up that way to Octovalo. Leather purses, anyone?

People tell us that Ecuador is a great place to learn Spanish because no one really has an accent here, like they would in Spain. That seems to be true but we have noticed that sometimes instead of saying the “v” sound, they say “b” instead.

As far as the people in the country that we come in contact with at the mall, shops, the taxi drivers etc. for the most part everyone is incredibly nice. Granted, you’re going to have a couple jerks anywhere you go but considering we know little of the language, our “nice people success rate” has been fairly high.

When Ecuadorians answer the phone they say “allo?” and when they say bye they say, “chao” – from my observations that is something used for someone familiar. You wouldn’t say chow to a taxi driver because you probably won’t see him again. And when you see someone you typically don’t say “Hola”, instead you say “buenas dias, buenas tardes, or buenas noches” depending on the time of day.

I’ve talked about the indigenous people in my earlier blogs but I don’t think I’ve explained how many there are around the city. You quickly get used to seeing them selling newpapers, lotto tickets or fruit but if you stop to think about it, it’s really interesting. It’s certainly something we don’t have back home – a group of people who wear the traditional clothes and keep their customs and practices while living in a metropolis. Even if jeans and sneakers would be more practical to wear.

As far as what people wear in the city, it’s pretty normal for the most part. If you really start to pay attention though you’ll notice this woman is wearing a sweater and jeans. The next woman is wearing a see-through shirt and the next is wearing a sun-dress. If you had to figure what the weather was like in Ecuador solely by observing what the people here wore, you would never know! I’ve brought many tank-tops with me here and the weather is perfectly fine to wear them. Back home, I live in them. But I feel a bit odd wearing them here in the town because you surprisingly don’t see many wearing tank-tops, even though I think it’s so hot outside during the day. I also don’t like wearing them because I attack a lot of attention without showing off my arms. I try to ignore it but Aaron always mentions all the looks I get – probably we all get. I just look the most gringo out of the bunch.

Also some of the women here have no qualms about showing off their stomach. No matter what kind of state it’s in, if you get my drift (no pun intended). They just let it all hang out. However, it some ways, it seems they are generally more conservative here. On very hot days in Georgia when everyone and their mothers would be wearing flip-flops, tank tops or sundresses, the Ecuadorians are wearing jeans and long-sleeve shirts. I finally just got the confidence to wear a tank top in public the other day (it was too hot not to).

Oh, and I suppose I’ve got to tell you about the besos. The kisses. It’s like in France where when you meet someone or see a friend, instead of hugging them you kiss them on the cheek. It can be awkward sometimes because people know that I’m American and this kissing does not usually come naturally to me but the Ecuadorians are so used to it so there’s this awkward pause when we meet. We bob our heads back and forth like chickens, both of us trying to decide to commit to the traditional greeting. During school days, my students just greet me and my CT by saying hi when they come into the classroom. But when I see them outside of school, like at events in the evenings at school, they do come up to me and kiss my cheek.

I’ve stolen a list from Anna about random things – in italics – we’ve noticed in Ecuador (and have added my own commentary:

• They call tape “scotch.” They also ask if they can lend you a pencil but they mean borrow – it’s because in Spanish there’s 1 word for both meanings.

• Ecuador runs mostly on hydroelectric power and has had electricity rationing due to a drought. Ecuador is one of the most green-conscious places I’ve ever been and I love it! It’s one of my goals when I go back home – follow the example of Ecuador (and the school).

• Teachers don’t make their own copies, they have people that run the copy room and do it for them. The school has 2 people that are in the copy center AT ALL TIMES. Can you imagine? They do whatever you need. It’s glorious. Back home, I felt like I needed a college class to figure out how to make copies for 180 kids in my TOSS placement.

• Students call me by my first name.

• Teachers are expected to show affection to students.  I have been hugged and kissed by a sixth grade boy (which I’ve mentioned). It gets some getting used to but now I love it. I can’t imagine having to go back home and not being able to love on 6th graders.

• The drinking age is 18 and is not strictly enforced. I don’t have to worry about this but anyone that is student teaching high schoolers have to worry about whether or not they might run into their students while they’re out in Plaza Foch.

• The average income is $150/month. If you’re middle class or higher, it’s unheard of for you not to have a maid. I believe that the ECE girls pay $10 for their maid to come clean, do their laundry and cook for them every Friday.

• I practiced more Spanish at the club than anywhere. Or in taxis. Or in restaurants.

• To “tank” is to get gas. And you can’t pump your own gas. You have to wait in long lines for the man in the jumper to pump it for you.

• You have to order “agua sin gas” – meaning “water without carbonation.” They get their carbonated water from the springs that are all around Ecuador.

• Ma. is an abbreviation for Maria. And tons of my students’ names are Maria. Or Jose Ignacio. It can get confusing.

• There are a lot more opportunities for the uneducated, i.e. maids, taxi drivers, security guards, copy room people.

• Private school teachers make more than public.

• Cheese tastes like a farm. Well, this is more of Anna’s opinion than mine but I do I have say something about cheese here. The queso fresco (fresh cheese) is white, thick, wiggly consistency and it doesn’t really have a taste. I don’t really like it. The other option is this neon orange rubber-like cheese on your hamburgers that tastes kinda gross. I miss cheese so badly.

• Yogurt is liquid and delicious. They eat a lot of yogurt here. It’s like drinking a smoothie.

• A bag of M&M’s is more expensive than a bottle of rum. A bag that’s just slightly bigger than an individual one you might find in a gas station is $4. Liquor is very cheap here.

• The middle schoolers dress better than I do. It probably has to do with the fact that their families have more money than I do.

• Riding in a car is scarier than any roller coaster. That’s Anna’s opinion. I doesn’t bother me. Just make sure that you have a place to hold on.

• Tip is included on your bill. And you only tip about 10% here. I’ve heard that it seems presumptuous and condescending to tip more.

• Dine in restaurants are cheaper than fast food. It’s a big treat here for mi hermanas to eat KFC here. Pizza is very cheap though.

• Tampons are virtually nonexistent. Actually (and strangely), you can find them in the diaper isle.


Leave a comment

Categories